When you are arrested for DUI in Arizona, your license can be suspended in two ways. Each suspension must be satisfied in order to regain your driving privileges.
An Arizona driver’s license will be suspended if the driver is suspected of driving under the influence and either fails or refuses to take a field breathalyzer test. In this case, an immediate 90-day license suspension goes into effect. The driver may challenge the suspension within 15 days, but if the challenge is unsuccessful, the suspension goes into effect after the 15-day grace period.
Upon conviction for DUI, a driver’s license may be suspended by the court for an additional period. For a first-time offender, the term of the suspension is 90 days. For a second-time offender, the term is one year, and after three or more offenses, the term of the suspension is three years. Courts may also impose fines and jail time for all offenders, even upon the first offense.