Ignition Interlock Laws

  • In Alabama, drivers who are convicted of driving under the influence with a high blood alcohol concentration (BAC) are required to install and use ignition interlock devices on their cars.
  • The threshold for the requirement is a BAC of .15% or greater; if you are convicted of a DUI in which your BAC exceeds the threshold, you will be required to install a device on any car you own or that is registered in your name.
  • First time offenders with a BAC level between .08% and .15% may voluntarily install an interlock device in order to regain driving privileges.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

In Alabama, if you fail or refuse to take a breathalyzer test at the time of the DUI, your license will be suspended for a period of at least 90 days.

Judicial Suspension

After you attend a trial or enter into a plea agreement regarding the DUI, your license may be suspended for period of up to five years as decided by the court.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Alabama

1st Offense Fine: $600 to $2,100
Jail Time: Up to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 90 days
2nd Offense Fine: $1,100 to $5,100
Jail Time: 5 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 1 year
3rd Offense
(Misdemeanor or Felony)
Fine: $2,100 to $10,100
Jail Time: 60 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 3 years
4th & Subsequent Offense
(Class C Felony)
Fine: $4,100 to $10,100
Jail Time: 1 to 10 years
Period of License Suspension: 5 years

Other Possible Penalties in Alabama

  • A requirement that you attend a substance abuse program under the referral of the court.
  • Seizure of your vehicle in the case of multiple DUI convictions.

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Alabama License Reinstatement

Source(s): Alabama Law Enforcement Agency; Ala. Code §§ 32-5A-191, Ala. Code 32-5-192

Last Updated: June 8, 2018

Draeger, Inc. makes every attempt to maintain up-to-date legal information on our website. Other factors may also affect the way your state laws will apply to individual cases. It is advised to always consult with your monitoring authority, attorney, or local court for case-specific information.