Back to Blog

The scenario is all too common across the US. Someone goes out and has a few drinks and thinks they’re fine to drive themselves home. In the end, it turns out they are not. So, they’re caught and either arrested or cited with a DUI/DWI.

Centers for Disease Control (CDC) reports over 1 million people were arrested for driving under the influence in 2016. As of August 2017, there were 53,639 ignition interlock devices installed in vehicles in Texas, according to Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) Ignition Interlocks Laws in the United States of America.

While getting an ignition interlock devices installed in your vehicle might seem like a hassle, for many who have been convicted of one or multiple DUI/DWI offenses, installing this an ignition interlock device can get you back out on the road and renew your sense of freedom.

How to Get a Restricted Ignition Interlock License in Texas?

To obtain a restricted interlock license, you will be required to pay two fees. The first fee is the reinstatement fee which will run $9-$25 depending on a variety of factors such as your age, the type of license you were holding, and the vehicle that you are driving. If you had a CDL then your license renewal fee will run $61. In addition, the restricted interlock license fee will generally run about $10. That will cover your restricted interlock license fees.

The next steps that you will need to follow:

  • Pay any additional fees charged to you for your drivers license suspension offenses.
  • View compliance items needed to determine and understand your license eligibility.
  • Track your driving eligibility status.

Once those fees are all, Department of Public Safety (DPS) will issue your restricted ignition interlock license. You must allow 21 business days for the paperwork to be processed and for your status to change from “ineligible” to “eligible” online before you are able to get your ignition interlock device installed.The restricted interlock license that you receive will not be able to be reissued if your previous license was expired, suspended, or if the fees fail to be paid. For more information about obtaining a restricted interlock license, visit the Texas Department of Public Safety “Ignition Interlock Devices” page.

What is Involved in the Ignition Interlock Installation Process?

With your restricted ignition interlock license you are required to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed. IID installations must be done by Texas DPS-certified service centers. These are the only locations that can install and service the ignition interlock device. Your ignition interlock device cost will generally run between $70 and $150 for the individual device. There is a required monthly calibration and monitoring check, which will run about $60 to $80 each month during your restriction period.

You can expect the ignition interlock installation to take anywhere from one to three hours, depending on vehicle type. During this time we will inspect the vehicle, complete paperwork, give device training and troubleshooting and answer any questions that you may have.

For more information about getting your IID installed in your car and regaining your driving privileges, please feel free to contact us.




Links to third-party web sites are provided for convenience only. Dräger does not endorse nor support the content of third-party links. Dräger is not responsible for the content of a third-party website.