Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • Tennessee ignition interlock device laws requires all DUI offenders to install an interlock device.
  • Offenders may be able to apply for limited driving privileges with the condition of interlock device installation, after completion of a minimum period of license revocation.
  • The length of that period depends on the offender’s conviction history, as does the overall length of the ignition interlock period.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

In Tennessee, any driver who is stopped for DUI is subject to an immediate license revocation if he or she registers a BAC of .08% or higher or refuses to take a field breathalyzer test.

Drivers with one or two DUI offenses may apply for restricted driving privileges during this administrative revocation period.

Those with three or more offenses are not eligible for restricted privileges.

The installation of an interlock device is a condition of these restricted privileges.

Judicial Suspension

DUI laws in Tennessee state that in addition to the administrative revocation, offenders are also subject to court-ordered license revocation upon conviction for DUI.

Courts will also impose jail sentences and fines on all offenders, even first-time offenders.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Tennessee

1st Offense Fine: $350 to $1,500
Jail Time: 48 hours to 1 year
Period of License Suspension:1 year
2nd Offense Fine: $600 to $3,500
Jail Time: 45 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 2 years
3rd Offense Fine: $1,100 to $10,000
Jail Time: 120 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 6 years
4th Offense and subsequent Fine: $3,000 – $15,000
Jail Time: 150 days to 6 years
Period of License Suspension: 8 years

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Tennessee License Reinstatement

Source(s): Tenn. Code §§ 55-10-401, 55-10-404, 55-10-409
Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security. DUI Offenses. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from https://www.tn.gov/safety/article/duioutline

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although Draeger attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and Draeger disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.