Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • A first-time DUI offender must install an ignition interlock device if his or her BAC was more than .15% at the time of arrest. The device must remain in place for a period of 18 months after the end of the driver’s license suspension period.
  • A second-time offender, regardless of BAC, must use an interlock device for a period of four years after the end of his or her license suspension period.
  • According to Oklahoma ignition interlock law, a three-time offender must use an interlock device for a period of five years.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

DUI laws in Oklahoma state that a driver whose BAC is .08% or greater may be charged with DUI. If the driver fails a field breathalyzer test or refuses to take one, he or she will be subject to an immediate administrative license suspension.

The suspension will last for six months unless it is successfully challenged within 15 days of arrest.

To regain driving privileges during the suspension period, a driver must voluntarily install an interlock device in any vehicle that he or she will be driving.

Judicial Suspension

After conviction for DUI, an offender will be subject to an additional court-ordered license suspension of between 180 days and four years, depending on the driver’s conviction history. All offenders are also subject to jail terms and fines imposed by the court.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Oklahoma

1st Offense Fine: $1,000
Jail Time: 10 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 180 days
2nd Offense Fine: Up to $2,000
Jail Time: 1 to 5 years
Period of License Suspension: 1 year
3rd Offense Fine: Up to $5,000
Jail Time: 1 to 10 years
Period of License Suspension: 3 years
4th & Subsequent Offenses Fine: Up to $5000
Jail Time: 1 to 20 years
Period of License Suspension: 3 years

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Oklahoma License Reinstatement

Source(s): Okla. Stat. tit. 47, §§ 11-902, 6-212.3
DMV.org: The DMV Made Simple. DUI & DWI in Oklahoma. http://www.dmv.org/ok-oklahoma/automotive-law/dui.php
Oklahoma Board of Tests for Alcohol and Drug Influence: Ignition Interlock Device. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.ok.gov/bot/Ignition_Interlock/

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although Draeger attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and Draeger disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.