Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • DUI laws in Missouri state that offenders who have had their licenses suspended may apply for a reinstatement of limited driving privileges in order to drive to work or to other vital locations as approved by the law.
  • In order to qualify for the reinstated privileges, those with two or more DUI convictions must install an ignition interlock device on any vehicle they drive.
  • Offenders with five- or ten-year suspensions must install an interlock device that is equipped with a camera, and the court may also require that the device be equipped with a GPS unit.
  • According to Missouri ignition interlock device laws, first-time offenders can usually receive limited driving privileges without the installation of an interlock device, but the device may be required even of first-time offenders at the discretion of the court.

License Suspension

In Missouri, drivers who are convicted of DUI face license suspensions with a duration from 30 days for a first offense to up to five years for a second offense. Upon third or subsequent offenses, the suspension period is 10 years.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Missouri

1st Offense (misdemeanor) Fine: Up to $500
Jail Time: Up to 6 months
Period of License Suspension: 30 days
2nd Offense (class A misdemeanor) Fine: Up to $1,000
Jail Time: Up to 1 year with a minimum of 5 days
Period of License Suspension: 1 year
3rd Offense (class D felony) Fine: Up to $5,000
Jail Time: Up to 4 years with minimum of 10 days
Period of License Suspension: 10 years

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Missouri License Reinstatement

Source(s): Mo. Rev. Stat. §§ 302.440
Free Advice: Legal. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://criminal-law.freeadvice.com/criminal-law/drunk_driving/missouri-dui.htm
577.010 Missouri Department of Revenue. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://dor.mo.gov/drivers/ldp.php#iid

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although Draeger attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and Draeger disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.