Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • Maryland ignition interlock device laws allows drivers with suspended licenses to opt in to an interlock device program that reinstates the driver’s driving privileges.
  • Drivers whose BAC measured between .08% and .15% at the time of arrest must have the device installed for 180 days.
  • Those whose BAC was .15% or higher must use the device for one year.
    Drivers who refused to take a field breathalyzer test must also remain in the ignition interlock program for one year.
  • Participation in the interlock device program may also be ordered by a court, particularly if the driver is a repeat offender, was driving with a child in the vehicle at the time of arrest, or was involved in an accident resulting in injury or death.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

DUI laws in Maryland state that drivers are subject to an immediate administrative license suspension when they are stopped for suspicion of DUI or DWI and when they refuse or fail a field breathalyzer test.

The administrative suspension period for first offense is 45 days. Suspension extends when driver is under 21.

Judicial Suspension

In addition to the administrative suspension, convicted offenders are subject to court-ordered suspensions that are imposed independently of the administrative suspension.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Maryland

1st Offense Fine: Up to $1,000
Jail Time: Up to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: Up to 6 months
2nd Offense Fine: Up to $2,000
Jail Time: Up to 2 years with minimum of 5 days
Period of License Suspension: Up to 1 year

DWI Penalties and Fees in Maryland

1st Offense Fine: Up to $500
Jail Time: Up to 2 months
Period of License Suspension: 6 months
2nd Offense Fine: Up to $500
Jail Time: Up to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 9 to 12 months

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Maryland License Reinstatement

Source(s): Md. Code, Transp. §§ 21-902, 16-205, 16-404.1
Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.mva.maryland.gov/drivers/impaired/maryland-impaired-driving-laws.htm and http://www.mva.maryland.gov/About-MVA/INFO/26200/26200-14T.htm

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although Draeger attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and Draeger disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.